Sunday, March 3, 2013

Chaos Daemons Review: Kairos Fateweaver

To be clear: the days of fate-crusher and other build that relied on Fateweaver are GONE.  Forget them.  He isn't what he once was.  Bye bye.

Instead, he now allows us to re-roll one 1d6 every turn.  Of course, its unclear (because its not spelt out) if that is every player turn or every game turn.  I suspect the latter.

Hence he is still a factor to be reckoned with.  But he re-rolling shenanigan days are totally obliterated.

What he does give is a "Lord of Unreality" warlord trait.  This gives re-rolls on the Warp Storm chart.  Now that's an interesting result!  Consider this facet alone: you combine this warlord trait with his re-rolling 1d6 every turn in order to get some of the best results (+1 invulnerable save; creating a herald out of an enemy psyker; creating a new unit of lesser daemons) and I think we're on to a winner.  You should certainly think about doing this every turn you roll a 5 or 6 for ONE of the 2d6 on the Warp Storm Table (before or after the warlord trait re-roll).  You can't really go too wrong.  (except by rolling Nurgle's Glorious Rot result of course -- but you got chaos instruments in your army?  Right?).

On top of this, Fateweaver is a psychic monster.  He is level 4 mastery and has all the Tzeentch powers plus (one telepathy + one biomancy) or (one pyromancy + one divination) per turn.  (because only one head is dominant at a time).  And a 4+ invulnerable save.

But he has drawbacks.  With T=5, a vindicator shot can take him down.  And he's not an independent character.  Look out, because he's going to be taking a lot of incoming shots.  And he's a shooty kind of character.  So I'd be looking to play him in flying mode as much as possible.  I'm a little torn on whether he's actually worth it or not.  Of course a well placed bolt of change (skyfired) is nothing to be sneezed at.  So in the meta of infantry heavy with flyers, he's probably looking good for Tzeench armies.

1 comment:

AltansarSpiritseer said...

it isn't unclear at all if he can use the 1d6 re-roll. the BRB says that "turn" = "player turn" if nothing is specified. it might get FAQed, but as of now, there is absolutely now RAW confusion.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...


Sequestered Industries