Sunday, November 6, 2011

Mindshackle Scarabs and Kharn the Betrayer

Here's a question for you.  I'm running Kharn the Betrayer as one of my HQ choices.  He's a nasty Khorne guy who really doesn't mind from where the blood flows -- just so long as it flows.  In close combat there's a chance he'll hit his own allies.

Mindshackle scarabs in the new necron rules are an interesting entry.  Fail a Ld test on 3d6 and the enemy strikes their own allies.  How does this interact with "the Betrayer" rule?  It is stated that the scarabs can use all the "bonuses" the model already has -- is "the Betrayer" rule a bonus?  

The rules as written and common sense say that all of Kharn's attacks go against his allies if he's affected by the scarabs.  But ... could "the Betrayer" rule simply get inverted?

11 comments:

sonsoftaurus said...

IMO without seeing the necron rule I'd think all of his attacks would hit his allies. I don't see Betrayer countering other things that might make Kharn swing at allies.

Old School Terminator said...

I think the question was how it would work if the necrons player ft to control kharn. In this case, I would say the ones would hit necrons and barring that, would hit kharn

jabberjabber said...

Hi Guys,
Old School hits on the idea/interpretation that I was questioning -- could it be true?
But, I can see it Sons' way as well. Might have to send GW an email...
Cheers!

Phil said...

Not familiar with the new rule, but since Kharn is immune to psykers, I'd have to say he's immune to Necron mind tricks as well, purely from a fluff perspective.

AbusePuppy said...

Necron abilities are basically the opposite of psyker powers, from a fluff perspective. There are little tiny bugs getting inside Kharn's body and rewiring his synapses, and he's not any more immune to that than he is to having his brain eaten by more mundane means.

According to Mindshackle Scarabs, the model "inflicts d3 hits on his own unit when it is his turn to attack." Since these are hits, not attacks, you never have to roll to hit and The Betrayer rule never comes into effect.

jabberjabber said...

Thanks AbusePuppy! Your interpretation seems spot on to me, going be the letter of the wording (i.e. hits, rather than attacks). Cheers mate!

Phil said...

AbusePuppy's interpretation makes sense then - I knew Necrons weren't psykers per se, but I wasn't sure what Mindshackle Scarabs were not having read through much of the new Necron background. Tiny mind bugs that rewire your brain - I'll have to watch out for that.

Torgrimm said...

Actually, wording of the rule is pretty terrible from rule lawyering RAW playing people - "inflicts d3 hits on his own unit when it is his turn to attack." Keep in mind, that Kharn is IC, and IC forms his own unit when in an assault. So you can further assume that Kharn hits himself, his unit in an assault.

jabberjabber said...

Hi Torgrimm -- your post made me laugh out loud! But that's not to say you're incorrect, of course!!

Skarvald the Troll-faced said...

What if Kharn charged into a unto a unit of Necrons aldready engages with (say) Khorne Berzerkers and then he fails the mind-trick-thing? Would the Berzerkers then count as his unit, even though they were separate pre-combat, count as separate units during combat and count as separate units for combat resolutions-sake.
What if Kharn charged into a Necron unit that was in combat with TWO Chaos units. Which unit (if any) will count as Kharn's unit? O.o Same goes for pretty much any IC.

armel said...

Rules as intended: the mindschackle scarabs take control of his mind and drive him to attack his allies, they don't simply "reverse his allegiance". Thus, they are just another chance that he'll hit his allies, they don't reverse the effect of him attacking his allies.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Facebook

Sequestered Industries